Posted by: Gary Guertin | February 22, 2017

18. World Cruise – Incheon (Seoul), South Korea–Feb. 18-19, 2017

~Hi All, (Written Feb. 19, 2017)

Editorial Footnote: Gigi I swear I wrote and published my apology before I read your comments on my boring editorial. Great minds think alike. lol.

Incheon:  We’ve had another port development since my last post.  Yesterday the Captain informed us that he could not dock the ship in Jeju (Cheju) City, Korea, scheduled for Feb. 19th because of poor docking facilities.  We, therefore, are overnighting in Incheon and proceeding directly to Beijing, China, arriving as scheduled, Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2017.

The temperature outside in Incheon is 26 degrees F., so Susy has decided, due to trying to recover from a cold, not to brave the elements, especially since we have to take a shuttle 20 minutes to an outdoor marketing mall.  All the tours are long rides to Seoul or the demilitarized zone, but mostly include visiting markets for shopping. Needless to say, I decided to take the shuttle, do my internet, and give you a look at some markets.

Before going into town, let’s take a look at the port of Incheon. By the way the port is known for the year 1950 when the US Marines landed here in one of the major battles of the Korean War.  First from the port (left) side of the ship:

DSC01865

DSC01866

DSC01867

A close up of one of high rises, with a Samsung (whose headquarters is South Korea:

DSC01869

Going to the starboard side of the ship, we see the pier were we are docked (all warehouses):

DSC01873

DSC01874

DSC01876

Let’s go ashore, first the ship’s port sign:

DSC01884

On the ride to the markets, a look at the streets and some unique buildings:

DSC01887

DSC01891

DSC01890

As we arrived at the markets, this was the street view, but they told me to go down a stairway and I would find the underground market:

DSC01895

DSC01897

and here’s what I found:

DSC01900

Looking the other way:

DSC01901

It looked as if the underground market went on forever in both directions and I didn’t think I was going to have luck finding a Wi-Fi place, so I went back up to the street level and found this market:

DSC01904

DSC01908

Another market that looked like it would go on forever.  I decided to go back to the bus stop and walk into a store right there and inquire about the closet Wi-Fi.  It was an eyeglass store and the man said to take out my laptop, sit down, and I could use his Wi-Fi.  Talk about lucky, I finished my internet stuff, stepped out to the bus stop, and was back in the nice warm ship in 20 short minutes.

We now go to sea for a few days, reaching Beijing, China, Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2017 and overnighting.  I’m going to take a 10 hour tour to the China Wall, so you’ll hear from me soon after that,  Until then:

Love You All,

Gary (alias Gagu)

Responses

  1. That’s funny Dad! Glad you are both doing well! Love you!

    • silly mother, of course they are having fun


Leave a Reply

Categories

