Posted by: Gary Guertin | March 17, 2013

Cruising with the Guertin’s – Why Cruise?

Hi All,

You all ask me this question from time to time and I usually give you the standard answer; “you can travel and see the world without having to pack and unpack your bags all the time” or “you get to bring your “home” along with you as you move around the world”.  Well, those reasons are all true, but in going through the photos of our last cruise to the Caribbean and Brazil it finally hit me (sorry, you know I’m a little slow) that one of my major reasons to cruise is because I see my better half at her best.  Susy, when cruising, gets to extensively use her wardrobe (showing her excellent taste in clothes), but more importantly she has the opportunity everyday to make new friends, to cement ties with old friends, to interact with people.  In a sense, she sparkles when cruising.  It brings out all her wonderful traits, for example one night our wine steward, a young lady from the Philippines, who we had gotten to know very well, just gushed when she saw the blouse Susy was wearing.  Susy didn’t forget that night, and at the end of the cruise she gave that blouse to the wine steward.  Here was a young lady who was saving with her husband (who also worked on the ship) to build a home back in the Philippines, who could never afford to have a blouse like the one Susy had just given her.  She was in seventh heaven and you could tell Susy was just as happy.

How did I reach this conclusion? Here’s what I saw day in and day out on our last cruise:

DSC02669

DSC02693

DSC02722

DSC02841

   DSC02900

DSC02968

DSC02973

DSC03055

DSC03057

DSC03011

DSC03112

DSC03114

Susy with two Argentines she met, one of whom is the wife of a doctor who is retired and lives in Ft. Lauderdale:

DSC03298

DSC03368

DSC03431

DSC03980

DSC04006

DSC04063

DSC04238

DSC04305

DSC04307

DSC04309

DSC04338

DSC04581

DSC04733

The blouse Susy is wearing below is the one she gave to the wine steward.

DSC04758

DSC04861

DSC04863

DSC05023

Do I make my point?  Susy loves to talk to people, ask where they are from, and find what we have in common.  I can’t tell you how much pleasure I get seeing my mate in full blossom.  Yes, now there’s no doubt in my mind why I love cruising.  Even though we now have covered the world in our 22 cruises, I hope we can cover it again, as long as I can watch Susy in her element, rubbing shoulders with everyone from the wine steward to the lady that has the Presidential suite ($2000.00 a night).  Treating everyone like they are the nicest people in the world.  Oh, and I can’t forget, all those hours in Macy’s looking for the best bargains can be demonstrated every day and night when she dresses like a million dollars and no one can tell the difference.  She loves it and it shows when cruising.  Don’t get me wrong, everyday at home she shows the same qualities, it just when we’re on a cruise she can put them all out there every day.

Until our next cruise,

Love You All,

Gary (alias Gagu)

Responses

  1. Lovely Gary! And, welcome home.

    dick


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

